Photo

How do I stop SC from loading at startup?

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 rmathes

rmathes

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted 26 December 2010 - 11:45 AM

Unfortunately, and at least for now, I have to stop running SC. I've been using it for 5 years now but I'm just having too many conflicts with other apps, have to switch to an alternative, something I'm not happy doing but it is what it is.

I've disabled the input method and SpellCatcher is no longer in my list of items to load automatically at login, but it's still loading when I reboot. How do I stop that behavior?

#2 Evan Gross

Evan Gross

Administrator

• Admin
  • PipPipPip
  • 2,991 posts
  • Interests:This Place!

Posted 26 December 2010 - 11:27 PM

Unfortunately, and at least for now, I have to stop running SC. I've been using it for 5 years now but I'm just having too many conflicts with other apps, have to switch to an alternative, something I'm not happy doing but it is what it is.

I'd love to hear more details about these "conflicts". Really shouldn't be happening, or should be easy solutions for almost all of them.

I've disabled the input method and SpellCatcher is no longer in my list of items to load automatically at login, but it's still loading when I reboot. How do I stop that behavior?

First off, Spell Catcher should never be in your list of login items. Not necessary.

Anyway, use the Spell Catcher Uninstaller to uninstall it. You can download it separately from our Downloads page, and it's on the installation disk image as well.

#3 rmathes

rmathes

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 27 posts

Posted 27 December 2010 - 06:34 AM

Evan, is there a way to keep SC from loading at startup without uninstalling it? Would like to be able to periodically update and re-test the app.

one of the conflicts is one I emailed you about previously, slow typing in OmniFocus. That never did resolve.