Spell Catcher X Features:

More Info:

Try it For Free!

Learn More:

System Requirements:

Jump To:


Spell Catcher X Reviews and Testimonials

Macworld - Spell Catcher X 10.3

3.5 out of 5 mice review of Spell Catcher X 10.3.4, within the context of a larger review on text expansion utilities. Not a full review of all of Spell Catcher’s capabilities.

(May 6, 2010 review by Rob Griffiths)

CNET Editors' Review

4.5 out of 5 star review of Spell Catcher X 10.3.4.

(March 4, 2010 review by Jason Parker)

AppStorm Mac Review

Lots of screenshots, some instructional material as well. Spell Catcher X: Powerful Mac Spelling Correction.

(April 7, 2010 by Julia Altermann)

Camp Software: Using Spell Catcher with FileMaker

Blog entry about using Spell Catcher with FileMaker. FileMaker Type Ahead with FMSnippets and Spell Catcher.

(February 23, 2010 by Hal Gumbert)

Macworld Weekly - Mac 911 Tip of the Week

Cure for the common double-cap

Not really a review, but helpful nonetheless. From the February 22, 2010 Macworld Weekly newsletter, Spell Catcher X is mentioned as a Cure for the common double-cap.

(Feb 16, 2010 Macworld Tip of the Week, by Christopher Breen)

MyMac Magazine 4.5 out of 5

Spell Catcher X - Review

MyMac Magazine, by David Weeks

(March 2nd, 2009 review of Spell Catcher X version 10.3.2)

Who Kneads Spill Chicken?

Dr. Mac: Rants & Raves #49, The Mac Observer, by Bob "Dr. Mac" LeVitus.

(December 2nd, 2005 review of Spell Catcher X version 10.2.1)

Hoo Neads A Speeling Chicker?

Dr. Mac: Rants & Raves #13, The Mac Observer, by Bob "Dr. Mac" LeVitus.

(February 27th, 2004 review of Spell Catcher X version 10.1)

How do you spell relief? Spell Catcher for OS X

Apple Peel, Feb 2003

(Archived article on The Wayback Machine, looks like Applelust.com is no more. Still, a must-read for anyone that writes in more than one language)

Blog entry (Feb 10, 2004) from Pierre Igot about Spell Catcher X version 10.1.

MyMac Magazine 4 out of 5

Spell Catcher X - Review

MyMac Magazine, by Russ Walkowich

(January 19th, 2006 review of Spell Catcher X version 10.2.1)

MacAddict Great

Review: Spell Catcher X

Applelinks, by Marc Zeedar

(Lots of screen shots in this one)

MacEase Rating

Spell Catcher X is Much More Than its Name Implies

Steve Becker

MacAddict Great

Spell Catcher X 10.0.1

MacAddict, May 2003

(Archived article on The Wayback Machine, looks like the MacLife folks nuked much of the MacAddict content they inherited.)


Spell Catcher X: Flexible Spelling Checker for Busy Writers Comes to Mac OS X

Macworld, June 2003

When is the right time to switch?

Crag Crossman, National Newspaper Computer Columnist

(Scroll to the bottom of the article)

Testimonials - What people are saying about Spell Catcher X

“...I bet you also wouldn’t expect to find a Thesaurus or a customizable, built-in shorthand glossary to improve your productivity, yet these are included in Spell Catcher. Have I mentioned the built-in modules for both processing selected text in applications and providing detailed analysis of that text?

Add to this Spell Catcher’s powerful and flexible Preferences window that allows you to "fine tune" Spell Catcher's behavior on a program-by-program basis and Spell Catcher's nicely designed interface, and you have one terrific and very useful program!”

Review by Steve Becker at Macease.com

“Spell Catcher X has been a long time coming, but it was worth waiting for. The OS X version is elegant and refined, and works better than ever. I use it 24/7 on all my Macs.”

Bob "Dr. Mac" LeVitus
Tech columnist: "Dr. Mac" Fridays in the Houston Chronicle
Author: 41 books including "Dr. Mac: The OS X Files"

“I've been the biggest fan of Spell Catcher, Casady and Greene's universal spelling checker since it was Thunder 7. In fact, one of the main reasons I delayed moving to Mac OS X was because Spell Catcher wasn't available...I downloaded my copy the moment I found out about it and I'm in heaven again....”

Review by Marc Zeedar at Applelinks.com

“...Spell Catcher is nothing short of a miracle...it is the Holy Grail for the many computer users who, like me, do one thing more than anything else on their machines: writing. Regardless of whether you are a fast typist or not, if you use your computer for writing, you just know that there are many things that the computer can do to help you spend less time on hitting keys on the keyboard and more time on the important stuff, i.e. organizing your thoughts and actually putting them into words...”

Review by Pierre Igot at Applelust.com

“As a writer, spelling is a key concern and although my word processor has its own spell checker built in, so many other of my applications do not. Casady and Greene has finally released their Spell Catcher X ($39.95) for OS X, and it was well worth the wait. The basic idea behind Spell Catcher X is that it will check the spelling within just about any application where you can type. And it also works with the OS 9 Classic Layer so you can use it with your older applications as well. In fact, Spell Catcher X performs even better than its OS 9 counterpart.

Needless to say that I feel if you own a Mac and are using OS X, you should own a copy of Spell Catcher X, but that's not my main point. There are many out there who are on the fence when it comes to updating to the newest OS. My observation is that it usually boils down to one or two important items that will inspire that person to finally make the leap forward. For me, it was Spell Catcher X.”

Review by Craig Crossman at Computeramerica.com

“I'll say it again...

Spell Catcher

Simply brilliant and brilliantly simple...

The new update is amazingly fast compared with SC8 in OS9. I reckon it is nearly three times faster. ... It is one of three applications that my life depends on and has done so for some years.


Dr. Steve Dillon

“This is the most useful and indispensable program I have for the Mac. Having been a user of this program, and its past incarnations, for almost nine years I don't see how anyone can be productive on the Mac without it. I can now be as productive in OS X than I could in OS 9 -- in fact, I refused to switch to OS X until Spell Catcher was updated for this new OS....THAT'S how important this program is to me in my daily life.”

T. J. Koniares

“I've relied on Spell Catcher since 1989. It's been the utility I've missed most when using Mac OS X. It's wonderful to have it available again. Anyone who writes for a living will be delighted with Spell Catcher X. It has all of the functionality of Spell Catcher 8 and new features that just weren't possible under older operating systems.”

J. DeWitt, Attorney

“Spell Catcher is an application I can not imagine not having on my Mac. I've been using Spell Catcher when it was called Thunder 7 which goes back about fifteen years.

Computer technology is supposed to make life easier and more productive for the user, that's exactly what Spell Catcher does. Why would anyone not want a shorthand system to type complicated text, or for that matter simple text and also have spelling checked in real time. In addition, the Webster's Concise Electronic Dictionary is a wonderful capability to quickly check definitions. When I started to use OS X and did not have Spell Catcher I felt that I was off life support.”

I. Mortman

“I've used Spell Catcher for years and am glad to see it come to Mac OS X. Although many of the applications in OS X have their own interactive spell checkers, many don't. I really have learned to depend on the global spelling support from Spell Catcher and have missed it in OS X.

With the release of Spell Catcher, my transition from Mac OS 9 to OS X is complete!”

Steve M.

“Spell Catcher is a writer's best friend.”

L. Sivitz, Link Columnist, Seattle magazine